skip to Main Content
John Mills

John a étudié au Royal College of Music en tant que érudit auprès du professeur Rodney Friend, l’un des grands chefs d’orchestre.

John est très demandé comme chef d’orchestre dans la musique classique et commerciale. Son travail en studio comprend des sessions de bandes sonores pour Jurassic World, La Belle et la Bête de Disney, Mary Poppins Returns et Doctor Strange de Marvel. Il a travaillé en collaboration étroite avec des compositeurs tels que Michael Giachinno, Marc Shaiman et Alan Menken.

En plus d’être le chef de file du John Wilson Orchestra, il travaille en tant que leader invité avec des groupes tels que le London Symphony Orchestra, le Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, le English Chamber Orchestra, le Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, le BBC Concert Orchestra, les London Mozart Players, le Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Le Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Le RTE Concert Orchestra et d’autres. John se rend régulièrement en tournée au Royaume-Uni et à l’étranger pour diriger le John Wilson Orchestra, notamment lors de ses apparitions télévisées à la BBC Proms.

John est bien connu comme musicien de chambre et dirige depuis quinze ans le très réputé Tippett Quartet, tant au Royaume-Uni qu’à l’étranger. Il a beaucoup enregistré et a publié plus de 25 disques avec le quatuor pour les labels EMI, Somm, Naxos, Signum, Classic FM, Dutton et Guild. Les versions récentes comprennent un disque très apprécié des quatuors à cordes Mendelssohn pour Somm.

John acquiert une excellente réputation en tant que soliste, apparaissant avec le English Chamber Orchestra et effectuant un double concert avec Maxim Vengerov et avec Stephanie Gonley au Royaume-Uni et à l’étranger. Au cours des 10 dernières années, John a joué et diffusé le répertoire de violons le plus important dans le monde entier, notamment au Liszt Hall de Budapest et à des concerts en Nouvelle-Zélande. Les concerts récents de Brahms, Elgar et Glazunov à travers le Royaume-Uni sont également au programme.

John joue sur un violon c.1720 de Francesco Goffrillerde Venise.

Back To Top

skip to Main Content
John Mills

John studied at the Royal College of Music as a scholar under professor Rodney Friend, one of the great orchestral leaders.

John is in demand as an orchestral leader in both classical and commercial music. His studio work includes leading soundtrack sessions for Jurassic World, Disney’s Beauty and the Beast, Mary Poppins Returns, and Marvel’s Doctor Strange. He has worked closely with composers including Michael Giachinno, Marc Shaiman and Alan Menken.

As well as being the leader of the John Wilson Orchestra, he works as a guest leader with groups including the London Symphony Orchestra, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, English Chamber Orchestra, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, BBC Concert Orchestra, London Mozart Players, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, RTE Concert Orchestra and others.  John regularly tours the UK and abroad leading the John Wilson Orchestra including televised appearances from the BBC Proms.

John is well known as a chamber musician and for 15 years has been the leader of the highly acclaimed Tippett Quartet, performing, and broadcasting across the UK and worldwide. He has recorded extensively, releasing over 25 discs with the quartet for EMI, Somm, Naxos, Signum, Classic FM, Dutton and Guild record labels. Recent releases include a highly acclaimed disc of Mendelssohn string quartets for Somm.

John is gaining a fine reputation as a soloist, appearing with the English Chamber Orchestra and performing double concerti with Maxim Vengerov, and with Stephanie Gonley around the UK and abroad. Over the last 10 years John has been performing and broadcasting the major violin repertoire across the worldwide, including performances at the Liszt Hall in Budapest and concerts across New Zealand. Other recent performances include Brahms, Elgar and Glazunov concertos around the UK.

John Plays on a c.1720 violin by Francesco Goffriller of Venice.

Back To Top